History behind the Manifesto



The building industry and its history provide a nice analogy for this. The increasing complexity of building projects has led to the construction industry establishing specialised professions alongside the various trades in the form of architects and civil engineers, who dedicate themselves to essential subtasks of construction while keeping an eye on construction as an overall goal.

In our opinion, the increasing importance and complexity of digitalisation means that the IT sector must take an evolutionary step comparable to the construction industry. It is not about establishing a "super-profession". We want to develop dedicated professions for digitalisation that take on essential subtasks as team players and at the same time do not lose sight of the common overall picture. 

If you share this view and want to support our causes, we would be pleased to receive your Signature under our manifesto!

How it all began ...

The story of this manifesto begins at a Bitkom working group meeting on the topic of roles in software development in June 2016. The starting point for this meeting was the idea that in the IT world we have an unmanageable number of role profiles for a wide variety of tasks. These many profiles hinder cooperation due to numerous handovers and unclear responsibilities. A holistic view, as is necessary for digitalisation and digital transformation, is hardly feasible in this way. Our conclusion was that clearly defined and holistically operating job profiles are needed, as they are common in other industries.

Poster "Software Professions"

A first result of the discussions from this event is this promotional poster on software professions (www.erlebe-it.de/software-berufe) with the three main job profiles of 'designer', 'engineer' and 'manager'.

Poster "Software Professions"

Founding of the Taskforce "Software-Gestalter" / Event Design meets IT

In particular, the term 'designer' then caused a certain stir and interest. In November 2016, Bitkom therefore founded the Taskforce "Software-Gestalter" to shed further light on the topic. In addition to many content-related discussions, the event 'Design meets IT' was the absolute highlight of the taskforce's work (https://www.bitkom.org/designmeetsit/). On this day, round about 180 participants discussed approaches, procedures and methods from media, product and industrial design and explored the question "What can the IT sector learn from designers?

Panel discussion at "Design meets IT"

Guide Role Model »Digital Design«

As a result of the Taskforce "Software-Gestalter", the guide to the role ideal 'Digital Design' was finally published in November 2017. The emphasis is particularly on the ideal. The digital designer should serve as a model for the further development of existing roles. Therefore, the development of the guide also started from the existing roles. It justifies the necessity of digital design as a leading design profession for digitalisation and characterises the competence spectrum of the digital designer with two focal points (design and material science for digitalisation) as well as a diverse cross-sectional competence. We have chosen the symbol Pi as a symbol for this profile with two focal points, hence the Pi on the cover page.

The media response to Bitkom's press release on the guide was overwhelming. Various media picked up on the Digital Designer, including Heise, Computerwoche and CIO magazine. The feedback on the Digital Designer at various conference presentations was also phenomenal.

Foundation of the Digital Design Working Group / Digital Design Manifesto

It seemed that the Digital Designer had struck a nerve. Therefore, in September 2018, the Bitkom task force 'Software-Gestalter' became the Digital Design Working Group. Its home is here https://www.bitkom.org/digitaldesign/

The working group is dedicated to advancing the establishment of digital design as a design profession of digitalisation. The first tangible result is the Digital Design Manifesto on this website.

Geschichte hinter dem Manifest



Das Bauwesen und seine Geschichte bieten dazu eine schöne Analogie. Die zunehmende Komplexität von Bauvorhaben hat dazu geführt, dass das Bauwesen neben den verschiedenen Gewerken mit Architekten und Bauingenieuren spezialisierte Professionen etabliert hat, die sich wesentlichen Teilaufgaben des Bauens widmen und gleichzeitig den Bau als Gesamtziel im Auge behalten.

Die zunehmende Bedeutung und Komplexität der Digitalisierung führt nach unserer Einschätzung dazu, dass die IT-Branche einen Evolutionsschritt vergleichbar dem Bauwesen machen muss. Es geht nicht darum, die eine “Superprofession” zu etablieren. Wir wollen dedizierte Professionen für die Digitalisierung ausprägen, die als Teamspieler wesentliche Teilaufgaben übernehmen und gleichzeitig das gemeinsame Gesamtbild nicht aus den Augen verlieren. 

Wenn Sie diese Sichtweise teilen und unsere Sachen unterstützen wollen, freuen wir uns über Ihre Unterschrift unter unserem Manifest!

Wie alles angefangen hat …

Die Geschichte dieses Manifests beginnt bei einem Arbeitskreistreffen des Bitkom zum Thema Rollen in der Softwareentwicklung im Juni 2016. Ausgangspunkt für dieses Treffen war der Gedanke, dass wir in der IT-Welt eine unüberschaubare Anzahl an Rollenprofilen für die verschiedensten Aufgaben haben. Diese vielen Profile behindern die Zusammenarbeit durch zahlreiche Handover und unklare Verantwortlichkeiten. Eine ganzheitliche Sicht, wie sie für die Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation notwendig ist, ist so kaum machbar. Unser Fazit war, dass klar definierte und ganzheitlich operierende Berufsbilder her müssen, so wie sie in anderen Branchen üblich sind.

Poster „Software-Berufe“

Ein erstes Ergebnis der Diskussionen aus dieser Veranstaltung ist dieses Werbeposter zu Software-Berufen (www.erlebe-it.de/software-berufe) mit den drei wesentlichen Berufsbildern „Gestalter“, „Ingenieur“ und „Manager“.

Poster „Software-Berufe“

Gründung der Taskforce Software-Gestalter / Event Design meets IT

Insbesondere der Begriff des „Gestalters“ hat dann für ein gewisses Aufsehen und Interesse gesorgt. Im November 2016 hat Bitkom daher die Taskforce Software-Gestalter gegründet, um das Thema weiter zu beleuchten. Neben vielen inhaltlichen Diskussionen war das Event „Design meets IT“ der absolute Höhepunkt der Taskforce-Arbeiten (https://www.bitkom.org/designmeetsit/). Gut 180 Teilnehmer diskutierten an diesem Tag über Ansätze, Vorgehensweisen und Methoden aus dem Medien-, Produkt- und Industriedesign und gingen der Frage nach „Was kann die IT-Branche von Designern lernen“.

Podiumsdiskussion bei „Design meets IT“

Leitfaden Rollenideal „Digital Design“

Als Ergebnis der Taskforce Software-Gestalter ist im November 2017 schließlich der Leitfaden zum Rollenideal „Digital Design“ erschienen. Die Betonung liegt insbesondere auf dem Ideal. Der Digital Designer soll als Vorbild für die Weiterentwicklung bestehender Rollen dienen. Daher ging die Entwicklung des Leitfaden auch von den bestehenden Rollen aus. Er begründet die Notwendigkeit des Digital Design als führende Gestaltungsprofession für die Digitalisierung und charakterisiert das Kompetenzspektrum des Digital Designers mit zwei Schwerpunkten (Gestaltung und Materialkunde für Digitalisierung) sowie einer vielfältigen Querschnittskompetenz. Als Symbol für dieses Profil mit zwei Schwerpunkten haben wir das Symbol Pi gewählt, daher auch das Pi auf dem Deckblatt.

Das Medienecho zur Pressemitteilung des Bitkom zum Leitfaden war überwältigend. Verschiedenste Medien griffen den Digital Designer auf, unter anderem Heise, die Computerwoche und das CIO-Magazin. Auch das Feedback zum Digital Designer bei verschiedensten Konferenzvorträgen war phänomenal.

Gründung Arbeitskreis Digital Design / Digital-Design-Manifest

Es schien, als ob der Digital Designer einen Nerv getroffen hatte. Daher wurde im September 2018 aus der Bitkom-Taskforce „Software-Gestalter“ der Arbeitskreis Digital Design. Seine Heimat ist hier https://www.bitkom.org/digitaldesign/

Der Arbeitskreis widmet sich der Aufgabe, die Etablierung von Digital Design als Gestaltungsprofession der Digitalisierung voranzutreiben. Das erste greifbare Ergebnis ist das Digital-Design-Manifest auf dieser Webseite.